Money Problems

“It’s like the more money we come across, the more problems we see.” – Biggie Smalls

It is believed by many that more money creates more problems. Yet almost all of us chase it down like there is no tomorrow. We overwork and neglect other priorities to make that extra bit in the next paycheck. Those of us that work salary are doomed to not know if more money will be made until the next performance review or surprise bonus check. A lot of the time the extra money doesn’t show up…

And then we begin to resent our current situation. So much hard work was put in to make that extra money and no reward is given. Our minds tend to “fill in the gaps” during these situations.

“This company doesn’t understand the work I do here.”
“My boss could care less about me our my team.”
“I can’t wait to see the look on his/her face when I quit this place.”

You may be thinking that I say, “well then quit! Take your skills and start your own business. Follow your passion and you will be happy!”

Well, that’s not what I am going to say at all. Quitting my job and following my passion would be great and all, but it just isn’t possible. Currently I simply CANNOT make the same kind of income with any of my passions. Could I develop a passion into a business that makes as much or more than I do at my current job? Sure; after many years of building and skills refining.

I (and most people) don’t have time for that.

So what can be done then? Should I just give up on my dream/passion and continue to work at a job that doesn’t understand me or what I do? My answer… Yes and No. Give up on your passion development (temporarily) and work on a few things at the office.

1) Realize that the company does not exist to keep you employed and/or happy. The company exists to make money. It’s as simple as that. Regardless of what is EVER said in any meeting in the end of it all the board DOES NOT CARE about you. They may even believe that they care, until something is done to mess with profits. Then the responsible party is in trouble. Big trouble.

2) Stop putting in extra effort where it isn’t needed. I am a strong believer in ENERGY management instead of TIME management. If working on a project for 2 extra hours is going to zap your remaining energy and only “get you ahead” slightly don’t do it. Go home. Enjoy time with family. Or spend those 2 hours on a hobby. You will enjoy those 2 hours versus the other option.

3) Find a way to enjoy the things that bother you about your current situation. For instance, I drive about an hour each way for work. I use this time as a release with inspirational music or podcasts.

I believe that money isn’t the problem. More money does not create more problems, but what it takes to make more money usually does create problems.

SO STOP WORKING SO HARD!

Leave a Reply

