Sacrifice Yourself

I can’t help the rush I get whenever I read “The Charge of the Light Brigade” by Alfred, Lord Tennyson.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Charge_of_the_Light_Brigade_(poem)

Sometimes you know that you are outnumbered in a situation, and you are in the situation by no fault of your own. Surrounded on all sides by those that want you to fail. We’ve all been there at least once. So what do you do in the face of almost uncertain victory? Do you back down to allow the greater numbers to move in? Do you stand strong and attempt to hold off the onslaught until assistance comes (if it is coming)? Or do you recognize your fate, and decide to charge the opposition anyway?

It’s time to go down swinging. It’s time to charge those against me. And maybe, just maybe; my honorable actions will bestow respect for me among those that stand against my charge. Maybe they will move aside and not make me fight them. If I’m lucky; maybe the will join me on my charge.

From now on it’s no holds barred. I have wants for my family and myself. It’s time to take this career seriously.

Leave a Reply

